1. WHAT I LISTEN TO… ON THE TRAIN

All of my previous posts have been reviews and interviews, pieces I have written for my university’s news website, which I am very proud of. However, I wanted to use this blog as my own little space to write, review and think. So, I have decided upon a little series to start me off, entitled ‘What I listen to…’, which will be little playlists that I like to listen to in different situations (roll with it) (ooh oasis!)

So, here we go…

WHAT I LISTEN TO… ON LOOOOOONG TRAIN JOURNEYS

Being in a long distance relationship and currently living in a city means that most of my life is spent on public transport (*cough* dirty double decker stagecoaches *cough* I ALWAYS happen to miss) so I spend a lot of my time with headphones on staring out of windows pretending I’m in a film. To be honest, I quite enjoy miming along to my favourite records (who doesn’t?!) despite of all the funny looks I get from other passengers.

Tomorrow I’m going to see my boyfriend, which means 3.5 hours on a Pendolino pondering why train tickets are soooo expensive.

Here’s some of what I’ll be listening to:

  1. COURTEENERS – FALLOWFIELD HILLBILLY

This is a walking-to-the-bus-stop kind of song. I live in Manchester and can very much relate to Fray’s thoughts in these lyrics, having been a victim of feeling rather uncool when walking around the NQ myself, not having any piercings and owning only one pair of docs. I saw the band twice last year, in a crowded tent at T in the Park and on their fourth night at the Apollo. They are one of my favourite live bands and lovely lads. God Bless The Band X

  1. PEACE- O YOU 

I’ve enjoyed listening to Peace for a while now; it was great seeing them both at a festival and at one of their own gigs. This, the first song on their second album ‘Happy People’, is fast becoming my favourite. It’s definitely a staring-out-of-the-window kind of track and makes me want to get up and rule the world.

  1. WOLF ALICE – YOUR LOVES WHORE

I’m definitely (maybe lol) in the Ellie Rowsell fan club. Wolf Alice were recently nominated for a Brit Award and rightfully so. ‘My Love Is Cool’ is a masterpiece and was one of mine, and many of my friends’, albums of 2015. Viva Glitter.

  1. BLOSSOMS – BLOWN ROSE

Regulars at 42’s nightclub, Blossoms are having an incredible year so far and we’re only 3 weeks in. The Stockport band’s debut single, ‘Blown Rose’ was released only last year, but since then they were shortlisted for the Sound of 2016, been regulars on the XFM playlist and have a near sold out tour around the UK starting in a couple of weeks. ‘Blown Rose’ is an anthem.

  1. MAC DEMARCO – TREAT HER BETTER

Unfortunately I only properly started listening to Mac after moving to uni and so missed out on tickets for his shows in the UK last year. I love this song because it reminds me of my boyfriend as he was the first person to recommend the Canadian to me. It’s a lovely, chilled out tune to listen to on a warm summer’s day (OR a frosty January morning!)

 

 

